top of page

Dopamine - 3AM review

This BAND! THE FUCK!!!

September 8th 2022


Once again, I'm shocked.


Dopamine has released a new single, 3AM.


Do I really need to say more?


Grade: 100


That's the review....


Kidding. Theres more.


So this song threw me for a fucking loop, because it comes in on this wall of sound, the ticking of an alarm clock, synths plucking and shimmering, bombastic drums, and in comes Levi, bringing a twenty one pilots vibe to the first verse, but slightly mixed with a hint of Brandon Flowers in the vocals (The Killers lead vocalist, Mr Brightside, youve heard it, you have the metaphorical t-shirt), before breaking open with the alarm clock beeping and a chorus that honestly sounds like it was spiritually sent by the universe from My Chem to Dopamine, with Levi's heavier, Remingtion Leith-esque vocal tone breaking in for the second verse. The song then brings in a unique little riff that I presume they achieved with a heavy dose from a wah pedal, a repeating bridge of "I'm so sick of 3 AM I never want to see it again" (one of their most simple lines, and yet probably my favourite line lyrically), followed by a guitar solo, another chorus, and an outro return of "I'm so sick of 3 AM"


This song sounds like any of the artists I've mentioned before,and some others, Yungblud, Palaye Royale, Twenty One Pilots, The Killers, MCR, even Beartooth to an extent on Self Made and 3AM, etc. But you know what? Fuck that shit, you know what it really sounds like? Dopamine. I feel like this song really comes together with the other two singles to create a diverse palette of musical influences that can be defined as "Dopamine", for now at least, until the next single tears up all expectations again. I cant wait to see the next single, the first EP, first Album, first everything, I'm here for it.


As I said before, Dopamine 3AM recieves a grade of 100, and honest to god, to the band I say if you ever end up in Halifax, Nova Scotia, drinks are on me.


You can find everything Dopamine here: https://linktr.ee/Dopamine.Band


I'll see you in an hour for the first album review for Bad Omens - The Death of Peace of Mind, its one of three album reviews I have basically done, that will test the few formats I'm considering for it.

Tyler.


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page