top of page

Falling In Reverse - Voices In My Head Review

Separate the artist from the art children, because if you dont like Ronnie and wont? You are missing some really fucking good music

June 2nd 2022



Those who follow my Twitter know that I dont believe in cancel culture. I think its fucked up that we ruin certain celebrities lives for the same skeletons that anyone generally considered as a good person could have in their closet. I also think seperating the art from the artist, and realizing that enjoying your favorite band even if a member (usually if one member gets the whole band cancelled its the frontman in trouble), has been alleged of stuff, is completely okay, in certain circumstances.


Case in point: Ronnie Radke and Falling In Reverse. Ronnie Radke is, unfortunately, considered to be generally just a bad person by a large portion of people (my opinion, of course, is that Ronnie is just on a learning curve, and while he acts like he is being dragged kicking and screaming, I do believe some part of him wants redemption or at least understanding in the public eye. But I can even admit that while I hate cancel culture and judging people forever for certain past mistakes, Ronnie's reputation as a problematic guy is very easy to understand. However I will also tell you the guys Dont Give A Fuck attitude is like MGK's similar attitude done right, he's a creative genius when it comes to the music videos, he's an expert at mixing genres in the music, and I love the man's voice.


Voices in my Head is no different. It is a rap rock or hip hop rock track, if I had to genre label it. It's a delightful rap about your inner demons, hypochondria, and being in the present, cunningly pitted against a video that shows Ronnie killing off the past versions of himself, all the way up to his Zombified "version", and a bunch of clones of himself, the film is a thing of beauty, true action film quality, and contains a quick scene that turns what could be dismissed as just a nod to Eminem into a confirmed MGK diss, who I pray will not get himself run out of music in general by trying to respond (MGK isnt my favorite person, but acting as the face of two new Travis Barker albums😂, the fact that he says pop, not soda, and is trying to bring rock back (though even he probably knows that its the return of 2/3 members of the emo trinity thats really bringing rock back), and so I may not love him, but I dont hate him either).


But the chorus, bridge, and breakdown is what really makes this polished gem shine. The chorus is simple and catchy, almost a pop chorus vocally, with the bright rock guitars breaking in, and then we get to the diamond core of the track:


[Bridge]

The voices in my head keep on tellin' me I'm cursed

I'm paranoid, I don't wanna make it any worse

We're all gonna die but first things first

I'ma take the world with me when they put me in the dirt

The voices in my head keep on tellin' me I'm cursed

I'm paranoid, I don't wanna make it any worse

We're all gonna die but first things first

I'ma take the world with me when they put me in the dirt


[Breakdown]

Move!

(Move)

The voices in my head are tellin' me I'm cursed

I'm paranoid, I don't wanna make it any worse

We're all gonna die but first things first

I'ma take the world with me when they put me in the—

The crunch better than a Cheez-It commercial on the guitars, the voice modulation, the screams, and the electro metal type structure to the breakdown that has a hint of Bring Me The Horizon in it to me makes for an absolutely brutal breakdown, like Corey Taylor's feature on Drugs level brutal.


I would say this track beats Popular Monster, Losing My Mind, and Losing My Life, is about equal to Carry On (Gravity), The Drug In Me Is Reimagined, and Drugs, and Zombified just barely comes out on top of all of these other post Coming home tracks, tying with I'm Not A Vampire (Revamped), bringing the grade for Voices in My Head to settle in at an A+. Needless to say, I am very impressed.


And remember, you can like Falling In Reverse without liking Ronnie Radke, and you can like me and my content (including this review) without liking Falling in Reverse (thank you for listening to my shameless plug)


If you like what I do, the only support I want is some word of mouth promo, maybe a tweet with my profile (@TylerPoirier10) written in it or tagged, or retweeting and showing others the link to your favorite reviews. I never plan to have ads, I maybe one day will open a store on here (but not yet). But I will never be doing Patreon exclusive shit or anything, and I will never beg for donations. I know what its like when your favorite content goes behind a paywall, and while I'm sure I'm not anyones favourite, I never want to deprive anyone of my content by making it cost money to view.


Thanks everyone, and a special thank you to Palaye Royale for retweeting my review of their newest single Broken, and Dopamine for the love related to my review of their first song Sorry. I will be eagerly waiting to hear and review their respective upcoming singles Fever Dream, release date TBA but will be by August 12th, and Self Made, out June 17th (if they see this, I dare them, leak a new snippet of the song on June 9th, my birthday, and even if not I plan on them being my first Group Chat interview (where I will have a band or multiple artists join a group chat and I'll interview them).


If you want to suggest content for me to consume, dm me on twitter @TylerPoirier10, twitter highlighted in blue up top is a link to my profile, words Genius Lyrics are in yellow and link to the lyrics of voices in my head, the word video is highlighted in red, link to the YT video for the song, you can find Palaye, Falling In Reverse, and Dopamine below on spotify.

Falling In Reverse:

Palaye Royale:

Dopamine:

See you in a few minutes when I continue this blitz of reviews with the first TV and Book reviews, of kids animated show The Owl House's Season 2 finale "Kings Tide", and the Scifi epic To Sleep In A Sea Of Stars by Christopher Paolini.

Thanks,

Tyler.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page