top of page

My Chemical Romance - The Foundations Of Decay

The Legends are back, both sounding like they never left and completely new at the same time.

May 16th 2022




MCR are back.


Wow, I never thought I would be saying that....


Well, okay, maybe not never, when the videos “An Offering...” and “A Summoning...” were dropped, the “new era” logo was shown, and the 5-related symbology and the word Merlin were popping up. I was almost certain that we were back in business, but then nothing. Well, again, not nothing per se, there were some slip ups in interviews that made it online that implied one album more than MCR had, but that simply could have been attributed to the scrapped album “The Paper Kingdom”, or even the compilation of ep’s (that I personally believe deserve to be recognized as an album), “Conventional Weapons”. My enthusiasm for new music from their return quickly dried up, and combined with the silence from both Fall Out Boy AND Panic! At the Disco*, I had resigned myself to the fact that I need to focus on other bands, after all, bands like I Don’t Know How But They Found Me, The Faim, Bring Me The Horizon, and Palaye Royale were all keeping the content coming.

Then this happens, the moment I had secretly doubted, but had hopelessly hoped for: MCR drops a new song out of nowhere. As if that wasn't enough, its SIX FUCKING MINUTES LONG, and probably one of the most interesting songs they have ever released.


The first thing I feel like I must mention, and I must extend thanks to Jon from ARTV for pointing out that this is something that might be a point of criticism for some, or something some casual fans may not understand, that the vocals are buried, not that it hurts the experience, or feels unpolished, but its like how some of the vocals from Conventional Weapons are mixed, they simply sit alongside the instruments, rather than on top, as is often expected, or behind.


It has some of every MCR era in it, Bullets, Revenge, Black Parade, Danger Days, Conventional Weapons, they all appear in this six minute masterpiece. The song features screams, laid back vocals, full fledged choruses, a breakdown/guitar solo type section, and little moments that remind you of many of their other songs. Yet its also different. There is something new, in fact I think "a modern form of past darkness" would be the perfect term, its MCR, in a way thats recognizable to every devoted fan, but is also been resurrected in such a way that makes it fit in perfectly in this decade. Its a natural progression from where they left off, and thats is what makes it perfect. The lyrics also invoke that conceptual style that the Black Parade and Danger Days had, which is a wonderful added touch.


I'm not hopping on the "NEW ALBUM CONFIRMED" wagon yet, but one could look at the imagery, the music in An Offering & A Summoning being registered as an MCR song, & the single, and draw that conclusion. I would love for this to be the case, but until I hear it from them, I won't even dare to hope.


For Foundations Of Decay, I will give an A+, but I'm leaving that grade open to become a 100 in the future, as likely my appreciation for the song will only grow with time.


My Chemical Romance's Website Link: www.mychemicalromance.com




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page