top of page

Dopamine - Sick Of You

Once again, Dopamine have proved themselves the guitar driven genre chameleons of the future.

January 9th 2023




So! Dopamine gave us a Christmas present, and I found said Christmas present during the very same minute on the clock as one from Fall Out Boy, giving us our first snippet of the FOB8 material.


So in short, it was A VERY GOOD DAY.


Now I have been unabashedly a megafan of Dopamine from day one, they dropped one of my top 10 best debut artist singles, and then showed that they are a group of kind, passionate, talented, and overall beautiful humans. They’re kind enough to read my shitty rambling reviews, be online and available despite our 5 hour time zone difference for over a week for a group chat interview, they even trusted me with a copy of You’ll Be Fine nearly a MONTH EARLY & the knowledge that something would be happening on the 25th. I’ve talked about their specific influences often, and talked about their extraordinary skill and potential, and on that today, all I’ll say is that they appear HEAVILY in the year end lists. But as for Sick of You?

They surprised me, AGAIN.

I couldn’t believe it, I truly thought I had a good grasp of their sound, but this track was a bit of a curveball. It's incredibly good, I'll get that out of the way, and also again, a shorter song, clocking in at about 2 minutes and 15 seconds. However once again: It doesn't feel short. Its more like they cut the shit to make a proper late 90's/ early 2000's, punk/alternative banger. Its a good form of short, akin to some of the songs on Elsewhere in that specific quality, where the length of the shorter songs is a benefit as opposed to detriment or source of regret on the part of the listeners.


Imagine a song akin to halfway between self made and youll be fine perhaps (if youve heard them, which you should have, but I still realized that I assume people have the same knowledge base as me so I'm trying to, um, just not do that), got a groove to it, slow near breakdown for the end thats akin to the self made bridge, stuff like that. Again, while I'll attempt not to get too relative to other things with terminology, imagine a cross between Vukovi, Paramore, and Black Veil Brides, with a touch of Maneskin. That should give you a nice idea of whats going on in this track. Its a fun ride.


I was going to give Sick of You an A+, but not because its any lower quality than anything that came before, so then it occured to me that if I like this one as much as Sorry, and I gave that an A, but then gave other tracks equally as good a 100, and am giving this an A+, what the fuck am I doing. So basically I'll be doing wat I should have done before, and making 99 an official grade, that I will give to tracks that are, in essence, 100's, but basically to make 100 more objectively used. As such, instead of giving Sick of You an A+ or 100, its grade officially will be a 99, as will the grade for Sorry, which I originally graded as an A.


Also I fixed my issues with using spotify or apple music widgets (at least in the case of Dopamine), because now I'll be using bandcamp for any artist that has it, as this will allow everyone to hear the song in full on here as they read the review.


Links for Dopamine: https://linktr.ee/Dopamine.Band

Also go presave "Fly" their last single before the album, now so that youll be able to listen to it as soon as it comes out on February 24th


See ya

Tyler|108



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Beartooth - The Surface

Beartooth maintains quality while looking to the light, without plateauing or stagnating. October 17th, 2022 Tyler Poirier Note: This is...

Comments


bottom of page